About Us

Princeton's philosophy department has consistently been ranked one of the top few in the country, and counts many scholars of international reputation among its faculty.  Located in 1879 Hall and adjoining Laura Wooten Hall (formerly Marx Hall), the department covers the full range of areas studied in an analytic philosophy department: logic and philosophy of science, philosophy of mind and language, metaphysics and epistemology, value theory, and the history of philosophy, including both early modern and ancient. Undergraduate majors number between fifty and sixty, and there are between forty and fifty graduate students.  For more information, follow the links in the menus. Click here to contact administrative officers: the Chair, the Director of Graduate Studies, the Departmental Representative (undergraduate matters), the Director of Placement, the Equal Opportunity Officer, and the Department Manager.