Climate & Inclusion Committee

The Department of Philosophy is committed to creating an environment in which all feel welcome, respected, valued and supported.  We are especially committed to welcoming those from backgrounds traditionally underrepresented in academia in general and philosophy in particular.

The Climate and Inclusion Committee exists to strengthen those commitments by providing a forum in which issues surrounding climate, inclusion, equity and diversity within our faculty, graduate and undergraduate students and programs can be raised and discussed, as well as to identify, oversee and review initiatives and actions that can be undertaken to promote diversity within our community and to eliminate discrimination in any form.

Committee meetings are open to all members of the Department of Philosophy. Please contact the Committee Chair (Boris Kment)(link is external) or the Department Chair (Gideon Rosen(link is external)) if there is an item you would like to add to the committee’s agenda.

Dates on which the C&I Committee will meet during the Fall 2021 semester will be posted here as soon as they have been set. 

Ex Officio Committee Members

  • Gideon Rosen

    gideon rosen
  • Boris Kment

    boris kment
  • Hendrik Lorenz

    Hendrik Lorenz
      • Professor
      • Director of Graduate Studies
      • Acting Director, Program in Classical Philosophy (AY 2021-2022)
    • Email: