Graduate Student Representatives

Each Spring the graduate students in the Philosophy Department elect two of their number to serve as Graduate Student Representatives for the following academic year.

Graduate Student Representatives 2017-18
Alejandro Naranjo Sandoval

Elena Di Rosa


The Graduate Student Representatives are expected to:

  • attend department meetings where they act as liaisons between graduate students and faculty, communicating the needs of the graduate students to faculty members and participating in departmental decisions, including decisions about the graduate curriculum, on behalf of the graduate students.
  • serve on the Appointments Committee where they play a role in the hiring choices of the department.
  • solicit volunteers for departmental committees that require graduate student members, including the committee responsible for organizing the annual Princeton-Rutgers Graduate Philosophy Conference.
  • assist in the recruitment of prospective graduate students, including initial communication about visits and arranging appointments and lodging.
  • welcome incoming graduate students by answering any questions they may have about the program, organizing orientation activities, and pairing them with older students in their areas of interest.
  • Perform other responsibilities as required.

Graduate Student Committees 2016-17

PhilSoc (2-3) Patrick Miller, Aarthy Vaidyanathan
Social (2) Gabriel Shapiro, Brett Karlan
Grad Conference (3) (No Princeton-Rutgers conference this year)
Princeton Workshop in Normative Philosophy (PWNP) (3) Sam Preston, Erik Zhang, Joseph Moore
Paper Tigers (1) Daniel Kranzelbinder
Receptions All first year PHI grad students (11 students)
Course Allocation (2) Thomas Lambert, Merrick Anderson
Classical Philosophy (2) Wenjin Liu, Merrick Anderson
Modern Philosophy (1-2) Claudia Dumitru
Library & Computers (1) Snow Zhang
Career Development (1-2) Joseph Moore
Minorities and Philosophy (MAP) Robin Dembroff, Alex Meehan, Alejandro Naranjo Sandoval, Claudia Yau, Aarthy Vaidyanathan, Elena Di Rosa, Patrick Miller, Kyle Landrum
Graduate Representatives (2) Colin Bradley, Kyle Landrum

The Committees have no chairs.

Former Graduate Student Representatives

Colin Bradley
Kyle Landrum

Marcus Gibson
Sam Preston

Rachel Cristy/Yena Lee
Dan Wolt

Hrishikesh Joshi
Adam Lerner

Sukaina Hirji
Joshua O'Rourke

Brennan McDavid
Anthony Cross

Mor Segev
Noel Swanson

Josh Gillon
Kristin Primus

Daniel Herrick
Jack Woods

Derek Baker
Ryan Robinson

Corrine Gartner
Angela Mendelovici

Tristram McPherson
Nicholas Stang

Colin Klein
Gabriel Love

Barry Lam
Sarah-Jane Leslie

Aderemi Artis
Brett Sherman