Graduate Student Representatives and Committees

Date of Update: 7/9/19

Each Spring the graduate students in the Philosophy Department elect two of their number to serve as Graduate Student Representatives for the following academic year.

Graduate Student Representatives 2019-20
Chris Register

Adele Watkins


The Graduate Student Representatives are expected to:

  • attend department meetings where they act as liaisons between graduate students and faculty, communicating the needs of the graduate students to faculty members and participating in departmental decisions, including decisions about the graduate curriculum, on behalf of the graduate students.
  • serve on the Appointments Committee where they play a role in the hiring choices of the department.
  • solicit volunteers for departmental committees that require graduate student members, including the committee responsible for organizing the annual Princeton-Rutgers Graduate Philosophy Conference.
  • assist in the recruitment of prospective graduate students, including initial communication about visits and arranging appointments and lodging.
  • welcome incoming graduate students by answering any questions they may have about the program, organizing orientation activities, and pairing them with older students in their areas of interest.
  • Perform other responsibilities as required.

Graduate Student Committees 2018-19

COMPASS Adele Watkins, Joy Shim
Princeton Workshop in Social Philosophy (PWISP) (weekend conference) Joy Shim
PhilSoc (2-3) Kyle Landrum, Brendan Kolb, Patrick Miller
Social (2) Kyle Landrum, Brett Karlan, Patrick Miller
Grad Conference (3) (No Princeton-Rutgers conference this year)
Princeton Workshop in Normative Philosophy (PWNP) (3) Thomas Lambert, Erik Zhang, Joseph Moore, Sam Fullhart
Paper Tigers (1) Ian McKeachie
Early Modern Conference Alejandro Naranjo Sandoval, Claudia Dumitru, Domenica Romagni
Receptions All first year PHI grad students (7 students)
Course Allocation (2) Ian McKeachie, Claudia Dumitru
Classical Philosophy (2) Claudia Yau, Daniel Kranzelbinder
Modern Philosophy (3) Haley Brennan, Hao Dong
Library & Computers (1) Claudia Dumitru
Career Development (1-2) Alejandro Naranjo Sandoval, Alex Meehan
Minorities and Philosophy (MAP) Joy Shim, Alejandro Naranjo Sandoval, Sonny Kim (Politics)
MAP Undergrad Reading Group Eleanor Gordon-Smith, Haley Brennan, Bridget Brasher
Graduate Representatives (2) Claudia Dumitru, Joy Shim
Prospectives Visit Committee Ian McKeachie, Eleanor Gordon-Smith
(MLE) Reading Group
Ellie Cohen, Chris Register, Alisabeth Ayars
(MLE) Speaker Series
Ellie Cohen

The Committees have no chairs.

Former Graduate Student Representatives

Claudia Dumitru
Joy Shim

Elena Di Rosa
Alejandro Naranjo Sandoval

Colin Bradley
Kyle Landrum

Marcus Gibson
Sam Preston

Rachel Cristy/Yena Lee
Dan Wolt

Hrishikesh Joshi
Adam Lerner

Sukaina Hirji
Joshua O'Rourke

Brennan McDavid
Anthony Cross

Mor Segev
Noel Swanson

Josh Gillon
Kristin Primus

Daniel Herrick
Jack Woods

Derek Baker
Ryan Robinson

Corrine Gartner
Angela Mendelovici

Tristram McPherson
Nicholas Stang

Colin Klein
Gabriel Love

Barry Lam
Sarah-Jane Leslie

Aderemi Artis
Brett Sherman